christianity · My Story

My Story: College Part 3

Lifestyle changes in college

While my faith remained intact during college, much of my personal interpretation and lifestyle choices changed. I don’t think my views changed so much, as I finally had the freedom to make my own choices. Growing up I never considered secular music inherently wrong for example. In fact, (confession time), I used to listen to a popular local talk show and music stations whenever I could get away with it. We weren’t allowed any form of secular media, but I enjoyed what I could get away with.

Here are a few examples of how my lifestyle changed during college.

Movies: Growing up movies and television were seen at evil. The most sinful aspect was sexuality. I remember clearly my first R-rated movie as a kid when my father said nothing about killing, violence, cursing, or drugs but simply stated “ya’ll can watch this but if there is any nudity at all you need to turn it off right away”. Generally, sex was not something discussed ever growing up. It was so taboo that other “sins” apparently paled in comparison.

We certainly agreed with the typical Baptist view of the cardinal sins (drugs, alcohol, and fornication), sexual sins were the worst. In college, I settled with a more liberal conclusion that while there would be sin in many movies, there was sin throughout the world and we could not escape it. However, if we could learn a good moral lesson from a movie, or get entertainment without becoming like the characters, then there was nothing wrong with watching. This basically eliminated explicit sex, gratuitous violence (unless historical), and openly anti-Christian themed movies.

I walked out of two movies in college. One was just so bad I left, the other had too much casual sex and I felt bad watching it. Other than that, I didn’t really find most movies morally objectionable.

2 thoughts on “My Story: College Part 3

  1. I am somewhat amazed at the absence in your posts of any mention of the Gospel of Jesus Christ which was central to our home and your upbringing. Maybe you were so intent on trying to “get away” with stuff, that the good news of the amazing grace of God displayed in Christ crucified for our sins and risen from the dead, didn’t get through to you.
    “But even if our gospel is veiled, it is veiled to those who are perishing, whose minds the god of this age has blinded, who do not believe, lest the light of the gospel of the glory of Christ, who is the image of God, should shine on them. For we do not preach ourselves, but Christ Jesus the Lord, and ourselves your bondservants for Jesus’ sake. For it is the God who commanded light to shine out of darkness, who has shone in our hearts to give the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ.” 2 Cor 4:3-6.
    -Dad

    1. The gospel was central. It was never an area of conflict to me. Even when I realized there was no truth in concepts like hell and changed my perspective on many theological ideals, I still held onto the idea that there was a God who loved me and saved me from living for myself. Remember this series isn’t a reflection on everything inexperienced as a child. Rather this series is a highlight of the the journey which led me where I am today. The gospel, if it were real, wouldn’t have led me here. Or perhaps the good news is that I am here and somehow despite all push to the contrary was able to break free from the chains of religion.

Tell me YOUR opinion!

